The Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society (AMOS) Awards announced

6 December 2018

The Uwe Radok Award for the best PhD thesis of 2017 has been awarded to Dr Catherine A. Vreugdenhil. The Uwe Radok Award is for the best PhD thesis in the AMOS fields of oceanography, glaciology or climatology, awarded in Australia. Catherine's award wining thesis is entitled “The effects of convection in geostrophic circulation: insights into ocean heat transport and energy budget”.

The 2018 Meyers Medal recipient was Dr Adele Morrison. The Meyers Medal acknowledges high-quality and innovative contributions by young researchers in the early stages of their academic career to the sciences covered by AMOS. Adele is a highly productive research scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of Southern Ocean dynamics and its impact on the climate and ecosystem.